Friday, July 12, 2024
HomeDanceThe Dance Information You May Have Missed in March 2024

The Dance Information You May Have Missed in March 2024


Listed here are the most recent promotions, appointments, and departures, in addition to notable awards and accomplishments, from March 2024. Plus, try a brand new funding alternative for dance artists.

Comings & Goings

At San Francisco Ballet, Jasmine Jimison has been promoted to principal.

At Carolina Ballet, Joseph Gerhardt has been promoted to principal.

At Paris Opéra Ballet, Bleuenn Battistoni has been promoted to étoile.

Bleuenn Battistoni balances in back attitude, arms open in offering to the audience. She wears a pale pink dress that falls just below the knee over pink tights and pointe shoes. A pastoral scene is visible in the background, a handful of dancers sitting or standing as they watch her perform.
Bleuenn Battistoni in Sir Frederick Ashton’s La Fille mal gardée. Photograph by Benoîte Fanton, courtesy Paris Opéra Ballet.

At Miami Metropolis Ballet, Taylor Naturkas has been promoted to principal soloist, Brooks Landegger and Satoki Habuchi to soloist.

At American Ballet Theatre, Jarod Curley, Carlos Gonzales, and Jake Roxander have been promoted to soloist.

At Boston Ballet, Daniel Durrett, Lauren Herfindahl, and Sangmin Lee have been promoted to soloist, Kaitlyn Casey and Courtney Nitting to second soloist.

At Colorado Ballet, Leah Rose McFadden and Jessica Payne have been promoted to principal, starting with the 2024–25 season.

English Nationwide Ballet répétiteur Antonio Castilla has been named affiliate inventive director at San Francisco Ballet, starting in June. He succeeds Kerry Nicholls, who has been named director of artist growth, starting in Might.

Taja Cheek has been named inventive director of Efficiency House New York, sharing management with senior director Pati Hertling and affiliate director Ana Beatriz Sepúlveda-Echegaray.

Ilter Ibrahimof will step down as inventive director of Fall For Dance North in October, after the pageant’s 2024 version.

Deborah S. Brant has been appointed president and CEO of Cincinnati Ballet after serving in each roles in an interim capability following Scott Altman’s departure on the finish of 2023.

Nationwide Ballet of Canada government director Barry Hughson will step down on the finish of the 2023–24 season to affix American Ballet Theatre in the identical function, efficient July 1.

Orlando Ballet government director Cheryl Collins will half methods with the corporate on the finish of the 2023–24 season. Inventive director Jorden Morris will function interim government director whereas the seek for her successor is underway.

The American Faucet Dance Middle will shut its doorways on June 30. This summer season’s Faucet Metropolis, American Faucet Dance Basis’s annual pageant, has been canceled, and the non-profit will downsize.

Tony Waag speaks into a handheld microphone while leaning against a green signpost, which holds signs reading "Tap City."
American Faucet Dance Basis founding inventive/government director Tony Waag. Photograph by Amanda Gentile, courtesy ATDF.

Awards & Honors

Bril Barrett and the Zuni Olla Maidens had been named 2024 Nationwide Endowment for the Arts Nationwide Heritage Fellows, which features a $25,000 prize.

Pam Tanowitz will obtain the 2024 Jacob’s Pillow Dance Award, which features a $25,000 unrestricted grant, on the Pillow’s season opening gala on June 22.

Ishmael Houston-Jones will obtain the American Dance Pageant’s 2024 Balasaraswati/Pleasure Anne Dewey Beinecke Endowed Chair for Distinguished Instructing, which features a $5,000 honorarium, on June 30.

Alice Sheppard and taisha paggett are among the many recipients of Spring-Summer time 2024 MacDowell Fellowships.

Iana Salenko was awarded the honorary title of Berlin Chamber Dancer.

Recipients of Isadora Duncan Dance Awards (“Izzies”) for the 2022–23 efficiency season included Rogelio Lopez and Danielle Rowe (Excellent Achievement in Choreography or Course, Entre Despierto y Dormido and MADCAP, respectively); Jin Lee Baobei, Lawrence Chen, and Nicole Townsend (Excellent Achievement in Efficiency — Particular person); Joseph A. Hernandez and Kelsey McFalls (Excellent Achievement in Efficiency — Ensemble, Natasha Adorlee’s Blooming Flowers and the Full Moon); Los Lupeños de San José (Excellent Achievement in Efficiency — Firm, Yahir Padilla’s Ritos y Costumbres); and San Francisco Playhouse (Excellent Achievement in Restaging/Revival/Reconstruction, A Refrain Line). Rena Butler, Dance Mission Theater, and José Ome Mazati and Debb Kajiyama of NAKA Dance Theater obtained Particular Achievement Awards. Dimensions Dance Theater, Nancy Karp, and Robert Henry Johnson (posthumous) had been honored for Sustained Achievement.

New Funding Alternatives

The Doris Duke Basis is accepting functions for its new Performing Arts Applied sciences Lab. It’s going to fund chosen challenge proposals using new digital instruments and manufacturing strategies from people, organizations, and partnerships working in jazz, modern dance, and theater. Software deadline is Might 6; additional data obtainable right here.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments